Various questions about LSTMs that I have not found answers to

Hi,

I am new to working with LSTMs and I have multiple questions that I have not found questions to. If you have answers to any of the following please respond.

(1):
Given input of shape (batch_size, seq_length, 1) passed through
lstm = LSTM(input_size=input_size, hidden_size=hidden_size, batch_first=True), the output (output, _ = lstm(input)) is of shape (batch_size, seq_len, hidden_size).
(1.1):
If I then want to make a prediction on this using fully connected layer, if I understand correctly, I only need the final feature in the sequence. Is this correct?
(1.2):
So this would be fully_connected(output[:,-1, :]). Is this correct?

(2):
If sequences in a batch have different lengths, I can store the sequences in a list: batch = [sequence_1, ..., sequence_n], where sequence_i are tensors of shape (seq_length_i, 1). This can be wrapped in the following: batch = torch.nn.utils.rnn.pack_sequence(batch). This can then be passed through the LSTM described in Q(1). The output, however, is still of type PackedSequence and I want the output features of each sequence in the batch. I have written the following code:
pad_packed_sequence(a)[0][-1, :, :]
(2.1):
my interpretation of the above code is that I am extracting the final output of the entire sequence of the lstm for each sequence in the batch (plus padding). Is this right?
(2.2):
More theoretical, if I pass a packed sequence through an LSTM, will each sequence be passed independently? I.e. will my output be equivalent to the output if I had passed each sequence independently and then concatenate the outputs?

(3):