What is a normal inference speed for Resnet34 and how to improve it?

Hi guys,

I’m new to deep learning.

I have a classification task and do the transfer learning using Resnet34(the implementation by PyTorch). The dataset I used is Stanford Car Dataset. For training, I used pretrained weights and fine-tuned the model using the vehicle dataset. The accuracy I got on train dataset and validation dataset is 99% and 89%, respectively (Btw, is there any over-fitting? I’m not sure).

When I do the inference, I feed one image(224x224) to my fine-tuned model and got correct label. But the inference speed is quite slow: around 160 ms. I think the speed should be much faster than this.

So what is a normal inference speed for Resnet34?

And how to increase the inference speed? (I know half precision may help, but not really sure.)

Anyone can help me?

Thanks!

The inference speed depends on a lot of factors, e.g.:

• are you loading each image, pushing to the device, and running a single forward pass?
    If so, are you adding the timing of all steps or just the actual forward pass?
  • Half precision might help, if you use a GPU with Volta/Tensor Cores
  • Yes, it looks like your model is overfitting on the training data, as the accuracy gap is quite large

Thanks for you reply!

1. This is part of my code. I load only one image, and just calculate the timing for forward pass.
def test_image(test_path):
    device = torch.device("cuda")
    #test_path: "./CarDataset/data/test/00001.jpg"
    input = cv2.imread(test_path)
    original = input

input = cv2.cvtColor(input, cv2.COLOR_BGR2RGB)
    input = Image.fromarray(input)

mean, std = [0.485, 0.456, 0.406], [0.229, 0.224, 0.225]
    normalize = transforms.Normalize(mean=mean, std=std)

transform_test = transforms.Compose([
        transforms.Resize((224, 224)),
        transforms.ToTensor(),
        normalize
        ])

input = transform_test(input)
    input = torch.unsqueeze(input, 0)
    input = input.to(device)