What is the difference between pytorch-quantization and torch.ao.quantization

I am new to PyTorch Quantization.
I am not sure what’s the difference between pytorch-quantization and torch.ao.quantization?

import pytorch_quantization
from pytorch_quantization import nn as quant_nn
from pytorch_quantization import quant_modules
from pytorch_quantization import calib
from torch.ao.quantization import get_default_qconfig, QConfigMapping, default_qconfig
from torch.ao.quantization.quantize_fx import prepare_fx, convert_fx, fuse_fx

its just our old directory. using ao.quantization is the recommended folder. You can directly replace all instances of torch.quantization with torch.ao.quantization. (note the reverse doesn’t work, most new functions/classes developed after the move weren’t duplicated to torch.quantization.

Our team started off doing only quantization and we were granted the top level torch.quantization folder, then we started doing pruning and sparsity and developed various numerical debugging tools. to avoid needing 5 top level folders, we moved everything to the torch.ao (architecture optimization) top level folder with quantization being a subfolder of it. We left the torch.quantization there but it just imports things from torch.ao.quantization to maintain BC, though its temporary and will eventually be removed.

1 Like

Thank you very much for your reply. well I think what you describe is the difference between torch.quantization and torch.ao.quantization, which is similar in this answer. I am not sure that torch.quantization/torch.ao.quantization and pytoch-quantization whether be two different packages(the former come from pytorch, the letter come from nvidia?), they can both be used to quantization, just api not common?