Where the weights updates are calculated when Adam optimizer is used?

Hi everyone,

I am trying to figure out where the weight update process is done when you train a GRU model. I am using Adam optimizer, however I am new in PyTorch. I need this basically because I need to find the C++ code used to do the update in order to change the precision used while the update is done. I did this before using Caffe where I found a function called saxpy (on top of the blas function with the same name) where the update was done, however I am looking for the same in PyTorch but I can’t find the proper function doing it.

Do you know where could I find information related to this process ?

Thanks in advance.

Hi,

All the computations are done in this file: https://github.com/pytorch/pytorch/blob/master/torch/optim/adam.py

If you just want to increase the precision, you don’t have to change any cpp code. You can make your own adam optimizer (copy paste the code from the file above), and convert Tensors from single precision to double precision with .double() to increase the precision of all operations that will happen to it.
Don’t forget to convert it back to a single precision Tensor with .float() before performing the update on the original parameters.

1 Like

Thanks for your answer. I will check the code there. But the thing is that I need to reduce the precision using a mechanism that I implemented, with Caffe worked because I could detect specifically where the weight update process was done. However with PyTorch if I see the adam.py file seems like some .add methods are called to do the weight update process and as far as I understand in some way this will be executed using some backend library as mkl, mkldnn (because I am just supporting CPU features). Is there where I need to check the routine name to tell to my mechanism to avoid reducing precision when the weight updates is done based on this routine name.

Ho you want less precision? :open_mouth: