Why does merging all loss in a batch make sense?

I built a vanilla GRU net to resolve a binary classification problem, and train it with a batch size greater than 1.

Let’s say my NN model got a correct result with sample-0, and got a incorrect result with sample-1 in a same batch, when training.

When torch.nn.BCELoss(for example) was used to calculate the loss, it simply added all of losses into a scalar(not a matrix), and then this scalar loss(sum or mean) was propagated backward all neurons of the net, and every weights would be adjusted according to this scalar.

But in my view, the correct classifying behavior should be encouraged, and the incorrect behavior should be punished, instead of blindly adjust all the weights according to a single loss value.

What magic does PyTorch do in the background?

I’m a freshman in NN and DL. Thanks for your patience!

Hi,

To get an intuition, I would suggest that you work through the mathematical equations of how these losses are calculated.

The loss of a mini-batch is an estimate of the expectation of the loss with respect to the true data-generating function. In this manner, mini-batches of larger size provide a more accurate (in general) estimate of true gradient descent, which would take the entire dataset into account for each step. Clearly its a pretty inefficient computation to take the entire dataset, hence the mini-batch approach. It isn’t “blindly” adjusting the weights according to a single value, its taking samples from the population and seeing in what overall direction would minimize the loss. This is more of a math/optimization question than a PyTorch specific question. PyTorch takes the mean of the loss per batch element, not the sum.