Why does my training loss of ResNet50 not converge?

Hi all. I’m currently a PhD student at Duke University and I’m using Pytorch to conduct my research. It’s nice to find such a great forum!

I define the following network architecture where model_resnet50_bn is a pre-trained ResNet50 with Batch Normalization layers in between.

class MyPipeline(nn.Module):
    def __init__(self, image_size, transformed_meteo_size, num_classes=1000):
        super(MyPipeline, self).__init__()
        self.resnet_pretrained = model_resnet50_bn
        self.avgpool = nn.AdaptiveAvgPool2d((1, 1))
        in_features = 2048
        self.fc = nn.Linear(in_features, num_classes)
        self.dropout = nn.Dropout(p=0.6)
        self.elu = nn.ELU()
        self.fc1 = nn.Linear(self.resnet_pretrained.fc.out_features+transformed_meteo_size, 300)
        self.fc2 = nn.Linear(300, 1)

def forward(self, image, transformed_meteo_features):
        img_features = self.resnet_pretrained(image)
        img_features = self.avgpool(img_features[0])
        img_features = torch.flatten(img_features, 1)
        img_features = self.fc(img_features)
        # Concatenate image representations with transformed meteo features
        x = torch.cat((img_features, transformed_meteo_features), dim=-1)
        x = self.dropout(x)
        x = self.fc1(x.float())
        x = self.elu(x)
        x = self.fc2(x)
        return x

The last FC layer fc2 will output a float, and I have another target float number so this is a regression task. I use nn.MESLoss() and Adam optimizer with learning rate of 0.0001 to train this network, but I find that the MSE loss does not converge after running 500 training epochs. I adjust the learning rate several times but the problem still exists. Does this have something to do with the network architecture or some unexpected behavior of the autograd package? Any help will be appreciated!

Hi,

I don’t think there is any reason for the autograd to fail here.