.grad attribute of a non-leaf tensor being accessed

Hi there, im a newbie at pytorch.

I am running into the warning: “UserWarning: The .grad attribute of a Tensor that is not a leaf Tensor is being accessed. Its .grad attribute won’t be populated during autograd.backward(). If you indeed want the gradient for a non-leaf Tensor, use .retain_grad() on the non-leaf Tensor. If you access the non-leaf Tensor by mistake, make sure you access the leaf Tensor instead.”

I am not sure which tensor in my procedure is raising the warning, or what exactly is happening. I tried using .retain_grad() on several of these tensors, but that just turns them into NoneType objects. Any tips on how I can solve this problem (“if it even is a problem”)

Hi,

This warning only means that you are accessing the .grad field of a Tensor for which pytorch will never populate the .grad field.
You can run your code with python -W error your_script.py to make python error out when the warning happens and so show you where it happens exactly.

The gist of the problem here is that only leaf Tensors will have their .grad field populated. So if this warning happens, that means that you think something a leaf while it isn’t. This usually happens if your perform operations on a Tensor that requires gradients, a common mistake is foo = torch.rand(10, requires_grad=True).to(device). In this case, foo won’t be a leaf because it is the result of the .to() operation.

15 Likes

Thank you, very helpful reply!

Hi!
What if I want to know the output grad of leaf variable. I am getting the warning only and not the result. How can I get that.
Thanks.

Hi.

What if I want to know the output grad of leaf variable.

What do you mean by that? For a leaf Tensor, if it was used, the .grad field will be populated after you backward.

1 Like

My code working well after many epoh and iteration (± 25000) iteration. But suddenlly i have this error with this warning. Whats going wrong?

Hi,