Int16 precision support on quantization

Hello everyone,
I’m using the quantization-schema=symmetric_with_power2_scale and quantization-precision=Int8 for a new device. Except for a few operators like LRN, this schema works fine. But I’d like to have Int16 precision also. I’ve been studying the “base.h”, “quantization.h” & “quantization.cpp” modules but I’m a little confused on how to progress. Any help or guidance is welcome. Thanks

Hi @iviarcio, we have an ElemKind::Int16QTy, though I don’t think it’s used too extensively. Have you read through our doc on quantization? Not sure exactly where your confusion lies so not sure what info you need.

Sorry @jfix, but I started studying Glow recently so my questions are pretty basic. What I’ve done so far to support a new device is the following: I created a new backend based on the CPU backend, but removing code, basically from CPULLVMIRGen, and registered it. Then I rewrote transformPostLowering based on the OpenCL backend. I can compile and validate Low-level IR representation for new device requirements in Int8. Example:
…/…/glow/build/bin/image-classifier images/*.png
-image-layout=NCHW -image-mode=0to1
-dump-profile=profile.yaml
-model=resnet50 -model-input-name=“gpu_0/data”
…/…/glow/build/bin/model-compiler -load-profile=profile.yaml
-model=resnet50 -model-input=“gpu_0/data”,float,[1,3,224,224]
-backend=NMP -emit-bundle=bundle
-quantization-schema=symmetric_with_power2_scale
-quantization-precision=Int8 -quantization-precision-bias=Int8
-dump-ir > resnet50.lir
As you can see in the gist resnet50.lir both the NCHW layout and the quantization are ok. But when I try to use Int16 for quantization, the file resnet50-16.lir do not show the expected result. Any help or guidance is welcome. Thanks again, Jordan.