What's the right way of implementing policy gradient?

Hello everyone!
I’m trying to perform this gradient update directly, without computing loss.

But I simply haven’t seen any ways I can achieve this. Looks like first I need some function to compute the gradient of policy, and then somehow feed it to the backward function.

2 Likes

I think you should look at this topic explaining the tensor.reinforce method:

If the action is the result of a sampling, calling action.reinforce(r) acts as a policy gradient.
You can find a code example of implementation here:

Or you can just have
loss = samples_logprob * (reward - baseline)

(logprob is the output of the network, and reward and baseline are leaf variables)

If you do backward, the gradient backpropogated is equivalent to the policy gradient.

1 Like

hi everyone, I am new to pytorch, my question is a litter different from @Eddie_Li,

is there any way to change grad after backward?
I mean loss = right side of the red line
After backward, can I do pai(theta) * loss.grad, and then optimizer.step() ?
Is that way work?

the right side of your red line looks rather the gradient of your loss?

Your loss would be something like

loss = - torch.sum(torch.log( policy(state) * (reward - baseline)))

then you compute the gradient of this loss with respect to all the parameters/variables that requires a gradient in your code by calling:

loss.backward()

and if you created, before the training loop, an optimizer associated to your policy like this:

optim_policy = optim.MyOptimizer( policy.parameters(), lr = wathever)

you can update your optimizer simply like this, after each backward call of your loss:

optim_policy.step()

the parameters of your policy (theta) will be updated with the gradient of your loss in order to minimize your loss.

1 Like

Thanks for your help, but my question is a little different
In my formula A* is a set of all possible episodes
when I update parameters , I want something like